

Advisory Search Committee for President Policy	
Policy Sponsor:	Governors of Athabasca University
Policy Contact:	University Secretary, Office of the University Secretariat
Policy Number:	N/A
Effective Date:	October 14, 2015
Approval Group:	Governors of Athabasca University
Approval Date:	October 14, 2015, Motion # 203-07
Review Date:	Biennially
Procedure:	Advisory Search Committee for President Procedures

Purpose

To outline the principles to be applied when the Governors of Athabasca University (the "Board") is searching for a President.

Definitions

Advisory Committee The committee convened by the Chair of the Board to take part in the process of selecting candidates for the position of President and to recommend a candidate to the Board.

Policy Statements

The <u>Post-secondary Learning Act</u> (Section 81) empowers the Board to appoint, prescribe the term of office of, and determine the remuneration of the President.

The Board has overall responsibility for the search and selection of the President. The Board shall preside over these functions.

The Board shall make the final selection decision for the position of President.

The Board shall determine the process for the search and selection of the President. That process shall normally be in accordance with this Policy and the related Procedure, but where the Board concludes that in the circumstances existing at the time the interests of Athabasca University are likely to be better served by some variation of the process set out in this Policy and the related Procedure, or some different process, the Board may, by resolution, approve use of a different process.

When a search for President is undertaken an Advisory Committee will be constituted as follows:

- The Chair of the Board who shall serve as Chair of the Advisory Committee
- The Vice Chair of the Board, who shall Chair the Advisory Committee meetings in the absence of the Chair
- Five (5) public members of the Board appointed by the Chair
- Four (4) full-time academic faculty members one elected by each of the Faculty of Business, the Faculty of Health Disciplines, the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences and the Faculty of Science & Technology.
- One Dean elected by the Deans
- One student member nominated by the council representing the students association (AUSU)
- One student member nominated by the council of the graduate student association (AUGSA)
- University Secretary (Officer to the Committee) non-voting

A recruitment firm will be retained to assist the Committee with the search for candidates.

Recruitment of candidates will be international in scope and the process will be a closed confidential search.

All members of the Advisory Committee must sign a confidentiality agreement. Deliberations of the Advisory Committee will be confidential. Any member of the Advisory Committee who has breached confidentiality will be subject to sanction up to including dismissal from the Advisory Committee and, if employed by the University, up to and including dismissal from employment with the University.

This Policy does not apply to selection of an interim or acting President who is to hold the office only on a temporary basis.

Applicable Legislation and Regulations

<u>Post-Secondary Learning Act</u>, Section 81, SA 2003 c P-19.5 <u>Alberta Public Agencies Governance Act</u>, SA 2009 c A-31.5 <u>Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act</u>, RSA 2000 c F-25

Related References, Policies, Procedures and Forms

<u>History</u>

Governors of Athabasca University, October 14, 2015, Motion # 203-07 (approved)